News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Club AGM elections

Club AGM elections

Newark - ADMIN ONLY RUFC - WEB SITE2 Jul - 08:26
Share via

Meeting held on 01-07-2024

Members elected Andrew Fearn as president at the club’s annual meeting on Monday evening.

Andrew, a life member and former club chairman, takes over from Tim Barker who stands down after a two-year period.

Chairman John Clark thanked Tim for his outstanding efforts which also took in serving as director of rugby.

John wrote in his annual report: “If you wrote down a list of what you would want from your President, Tim has delivered on all fronts.
“Additionally, he was also Director of Senior Rugby. Tim, you have earned the utmost respect of everyone at this club, thank you.”

Tim will continue as director of rugby on a 10-strong club board for the new season starting in September.

One familiar face missing from the Board next season will be finance director Richard Staniforth who has stood down after 12 years.

The chairman led the thanks in saying: “Richard, you have done an outstanding job, ensuring this club is on solid financial ground. You have been a person you have been a person we can all turn to for excellent wise opinion on a full range of issues.” Vice-chairman David Godfrey will take on the role of finance director.

Members also elected a new life member in David Duddles who has played a major part in the development of the mini and youth section and was club chairman and vice-chairman.

A new name among the directors is Ralph Leeson who was elected club secretary. One familiar face returning to the Board is former president Alan Swain.

Directors for 2024-25:
John Clark, David Godfrey, Ralph Leeson, Tim Barker, Alan Staines, Matt Cove, David Pick, David Hayle, Alan Swain, Andrew Fearn.

Further reading